

Committee of Whole

Meeting Date: September 13, 2022

Submitted by: Bill Rayburn, CAO

SUBJECT: Federal Electoral Boundaries - Proposed Redistribution Plan

BACKGROUND:

The Constitution of Canada requires that federal electoral districts be reviewed after each decennial (10-year) census to reflect changes and movements in Canada's population. The current federal redistribution process began in October 2021.

Each province is assigned a certain number of seats in accordance with a formula set out in the Constitution. Using this formula and the 2021 census results, Ontario has been allocated 122 seats. This is one additional seat since the last redistribution process took place in 2012.

The Electoral Boundaries Commission for Ontario is tasked with reviewing the current electoral boundaries and proposing adjustments necessary for the creation of a new riding in Ontario.

The *Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act* mandates that each electoral district in a province shall, as close as reasonably possible, represent the same number of people. For Ontario, this means that the population of each of its 122 ridings should be approximately 116,590. Absent extraordinary circumstances, the Commission must make every effort to ensure that the population of each electoral district in the province remains within 25 per cent more, or 25 per cent less, of this number.

Madam Justice Lynne Leitch of the Superior Court of Justice serves as Chair of the Commission for Ontario. Dr. Karen Bird and Dr. Peter Loewen are the other members of the Commission.

ANALYSIS:

In determining reasonable electoral district boundaries, the Commission is required to consider, in addition to population size, the communities of interest or communities of identity in, and the historical pattern of, electoral districts, and a manageable geographic size for districts in sparsely populated, rural or northern regions of the province.

The Commission is required to prepare a report setting out its recommended boundaries for each electoral district.

The Commission released its proposal on August 22, 2022. As outlined in the attached map, the Commission has proposed that Middlesex County be divided into four (4) ridings:

- North Middlesex and Lucan Biddulph will form part of a new riding called South Huron Shores;
- Southwest Middlesex, Newbury, Adelaide Metcalfe, Strathroy-Caradoc and Middlesex Centre will form part of a new riding called Elgin-Middlesex-Thames; and
- Thames Centre will be divided into three ridings: (1) London South St. Thomas; (2) London Northeast; and (3) Elgin-Middlesex-Thames.

Currently, all of Middlesex County, with the exception of Thames Centre, is in Lambton-Kent-Middlesex. Thames Centre is part of Elgin-Middlesex-London.

The Commission is holding public hearings, in person and virtually, to gather comments and feedback on the proposed boundaries and electoral district names. To make a representation at a hearing, delegates must complete a Public Hearing Participation
Form. The Commission has set **September 25, 2022** as the deadline for Public Participation Hearing Form is to be filed.

The Public Hearing Participation Form, or alternatively written submissions (for those who only wish to make a submission in writing), may be filed by email or by mail to:

ON@redecoupage-federal-redistribution.ca

Ms. Paula Puddy Commission Secretary Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Ontario PO Box 37018 Southdale London, Ontario N6E 3T3

A virtual hearing for Southwestern Ontario will be held on Tuesday, September 27, 2022. An in person hearing will be held at the Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre located at 551 Windemere Road on Friday, October 28, 2022 at 6:30pm.

RECOMMENDATION:

THAT staff be directed to submit a Public Hearing Participation Form to the Ontario Commission to enable the Warden to make representations regarding the impact of the proposed redistribution on residents of Middlesex County at the public hearing being held October 28, 2022 at the Ivey Spencer Leadership Centre.