## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – January 13, 2025

The Western Ontario Wardens' Caucus (WOWC) is pleased to announce that Mayor Amy Martin, of Norfolk County has been elected as Chair of the WOWC for a one-year term, effective January 10, 2025.

"It is an honour to serve as Chair of the Western Ontario Wardens' Caucus for the coming year," said Chair Martin. "As a region, we face critical challenges and opportunities that require a unified approach. By prioritizing housing, infrastructure, workforce development, and addressing mental health, addictions, and homelessness, the WOWC will continue to advocate for solutions that drive progress and improve quality of life for residents across Southwestern Ontario."

The announcement was made following the organization's Annual General Meeting (AGM), where additional officers were also appointed. Warden Kevin Marriott of Lambton County was elected as Vice-Chair, Al Meneses, CAO of Norfolk County will serve as Secretary, and Sonya Pritchard, CAO of Dufferin County, will hold the office of Treasurer.

In addition to the Board leadership, Darren White past
Warden of Dufferin County was named Chair of the WOWC
Economic Development Sub-Committee. The committee
includes sitting and past Wardens, with support from WOWC
member CAOs, regional partners, and economic development
specialists.

Warden Marcus Ryan from Oxford County will serve as Chair of the Western Ontario Municipal Conference for 2025.

Looking ahead, the WOWC approved the 2025-27 Strategic Plan committing to advancing the key priorities of the region, including: ^

- Housing
- Infrastructure
- Workforce
- Mental Health, Addictions, and Homelessness

"Collaboration will be at the heart of our efforts this year," added Chair Martin. "By working together with all levels of government, industry, and community partners, the WOWC will ensure that our priorities align with the needs of the region and deliver meaningful results for our communities."

WOWC's Board of Directors (2025-2026):

- Chair Amy Martin, Norfolk County
- Vice Chair Kevin Marriott, County of Lambton
- Andrea Matrosovs, Grey County
- Basil Clarke, Simcoe County
- Brian Ropp, Middlesex County
- Chris White, Wellington County
- Darrin Canniff, Chatham Kent
- David Bailey, County of Brant
- Doug Kellum, Perth County
- Grant Jones, Elgin County
- Hilda MacDonald, County of Essex
- Jamie Heffer, Huron County
- Janet Horner, Dufferin County
- Luke Charbonneau, Bruce County







## Photos:

Left: Mayor Amy Martin elected as 2025 WOWC Chair

Top Right: 2025 Caucus from L to R: Brian Ropp, Middlesex County; Vice Chair Kevin Marriott, County of Lambton; Luke Charbonneau, Bruce County; Andrea Matrosovs, Grey County; Chris White, Wellington County; Janet Horner, Dufferin County; Jamie Heffer, Huron County; Dean Trentowsky, Perth County; Chair Amy Martin, Norfolk County; Basil Clarke, Simcoe County; Grant Jones, Elgin County; Marcus Ryan, Oxford County

Bottom Right: 2025 Executive: Vice Chair Kevin Marriott, County of Lambton; Chair Amy Martin, Norfolk Count

## About

The *Western Ontario Wardens' Caucus (WOWC)* is a not-forprofit organization representing 15 upper and single-tier municipalities in Southwestern Ontario, representing more

than 1.6 million residents. The WOWC aims to enhance the prosperity and overall wellbeing of rural and small urban communities across the region. Caucus members work collectively to influence federal and provincial legislation and programs through advocacy, research, analysis and education. For more information, visit www.wowc.ca.

## **Media Contact**

Kate Burns Gallagher, Executive Director Western Ontario Wardens' Caucus

T: 519-495-6059 E: kate@wowc.ca

← Western Ontario Wardens' Caucus Advocates for Rural Needs at AMO 2024 Conference

Designed by Simply Stated Solutions Inc.



